Ashwin Kanna sucks and why
You know what they say, if it sounds like it’s too good to be true, then it probably is…?
ContestBlogger alerted me recently to this “full of crap contest” scam. I love the title of this post, “I told you so Ashwin Kanna is full of crap”:
The reason this makes me so angry is because of the way he did it: by hosting a total sham blog contest and promising bloggers that he would give one lucky winner $2,500 if they would link to his pukebag blog.
Well, check out what happened over at Ashwin Kanna’s blog. No, I am not linking to this fool. Please type in the URL yourself if you wish to see what kind of disgrace he has pulled on the unsuspecting internet public.
Some of the blogosphere were sucked in by this nonsense. Thankfully, I was not part of the bloggers that gave this guy a link back. His blog has literally jumped in popularity from no-nothing status to up in the top 10k.
Evil, you say? Yes, it sure is. It’s also wrong.
He awarded a winner alright. Some blog called bloggerslogger that is hosted on wordpress.com. This “lucky” blogger only had one post as of the drawing date of the contest. Suspicious indeed.
If you’ve done a review of Ashwin’s blog, then I’d urge you now to delete the post that links to his site. He doesn’t deserve your linklove or your loyalty. And they say that there’s no such thing as bad publicity? If you don’t want to delete your link, please feel free to update the anchor text to “crappy blog” or something similar.
To say that someone needs to review a lesson in blogging ethics should go without saying.
Here’s what another blogger has to say about the contest sham:
AshwinKhanna.com is a disgrace to the hustle. Please remove all links to his site if you have any in your blogroll or posts, and spread the news so he cannot start another one.


So he won his own contest? Hmm.. something really interesting.
Okay, I have to admit I got sucked in. I think I was more curious than anything and was wondering how (and why??) anyone would just give away $2500. But I deleted that link a LONG time ago. Sneaky, indeed.
I hope this will serve as a lesson to anyone who tries to defraud their readers: we will unite and stop you!
Don’t forget to report that sorry-ass wordpress.com blog to WP. I’m sure they’d love to know what happened with Ashwin, not to mention that HP article is plagiarized from the NY Times!
Whoa JT! That’s some good info! I never even realized that, oh yeah, he might have woven a web he can’t get out of!